Research Capacity Building Committee (RCBC)

The purpose of the Research Capacity Building Committee (RCBC) is to initiate and oversee strategies, structures, activities, and/or events that support and facilitate early career (masters, doctoral and post-doctoral) research development in mathematics, science, and technology education.

This purpose is consistent with the aim of "assisting in the development of research skills of people interested in entering the MSTE field, and developing further expertise in that field by means of organizing workshops, short courses and exchange visits" outlined in SAARMSTE's Constitution.

The RCBC was constituted at the Annual General Meeting held in Windhoek in January 2005. The impetus for this arose from the activities of a project supported by the National Research Foundation (NRF) in South Africa and the National Science Foundation (NSF) in the United States between 1997 and 2004. 

cap diploma 1315412b950x

Among these activities were exchange visits of doctoral and post-doctoral researchers between the two countries and two Research Schools held in South Africa in 2003 and 2004, each with about 60 participants, predominantly from South Africa. Reports on these activities were presented at SAARMSTE Annual Meetings in 2002, 2004 and 2005.

With NSF funding coming to an end in 2004, the project's Liaison Committee explored different structures that could support these activities and propose others for the future. These structures were discussed at the 2004 RS and subsequently with NRF representatives. The outcome of these deliberations was that a proposal to establish the RCBC was submitted to, and accepted by, SAARMSTE's AGM in January 2005.

Currently the RS is the main activity of the RCBC, though it does respond to calls that fulfil the mandate of the committee.

The Research Capacity Building Committee (RCBC) members are:

  • Audrey Msimanga (Chairperson)
  • Tulsi Morar
  • Peter Hewson
  • Marissa Rollnick
  • Fred Lubben
  • Zukiswa Kuhlane
  • Edgar Sintema