Two awards may be awarded at the Gala Conference Dinner of the Annual Conference.

These are:

  • Early Career Publication Award - for an emerging published researcher in the early part of his/her career for a remarkable and excellent report in the AJRMSTE. 
  • Exceptional Service to SAARMSTE Award - is an acknowledgement to a SAARMSTE member who is found to have made a substantive contribution to a range of SAARMSTE activities and to the SAARMSTE as an organisation.


  • Early Career Publication Award is recommended by the Chief Editor of the AJRMSTE.  Click here for criteria on which the Award is judged
  • Nominations for the Exceptional Service to SAARMSTE Award should be sent in the form of a motivation letter to the Association Secretariat at: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
The deadline for nominations is the end of October for the following year.
Year Conference Researcher Award Awardee
2013 Jan. 2013   Long Service Award Prof Marissa Rollnick
2013   Emerging Researcher   No award
2014 Jan. 2014   Long Service Award Prof Meshack Ogunniyi
2014 Jan. 2014 Early Researcher   Dr Duncan A. Samson
2015     Long Service Award No award
2015 Jan. 2015 Early Career Research   Dr Elizabeth Mavhunga
2016     Long Service Award Prof Fred Lubben
2016   Early Researcher   No award
2017 Jan. 2017   Exceptional Services to SAARMSTE Dr Tulsidas Morar
2017   Early Career Publication   No award
2018     Exceptional Services to SAARMSTE Prof Hamsa Venkatakrishnan
2018 Jan 2018 Early Career Publication   Dr Million Chauraya
2019 Jan 2019 Early Career Publication   Dr Doras Sibanda
2019 Jan 2019   Exceptional Services to SAARMSTE Prof Mellony Graven